Malaysia | National Code (Revised 2020) Act 828

The National Land Code (Revised 2020) Act 828 (“the Act”) came into force on 15 November 2020.

It replaces its predecessor the National Land Code (Act 56 of 1965) that was in force since 1 January 1966.

The Act was revised by the Commissioner of Law Revision under the authority of the Revision of Laws Act 1968.

The preamble to the Act reads:

An Act to amend and consolidate the law relating to land and land tenure, the registration of title to land and dealings therewith and the collection of revenue from within the States of Johore, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Penang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor, Terengganu and the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan for purposes connected therewith.”

The Act, in its present form, consists of 6 Divisions, 42 Parts, 59 Chapters and 447 sections.

The Act applies only to Peninsular Malaysia and the Federal Territory of Labuan. The Sabah Land Ordinance (Cap. 68) remains the main legislation
for Sabah whilst in Sarawak the Sarawak Land Code (Chapter 81) continues to be in force.

With the coming into force of the Act any right, liberty, privilege, obligation or liability existing at the commencement of the Act by virtue of any such law shall, except as hereinafter expressly provided, be subject to the provisions of the Act.